About Hopi

Originally from Vermont, I moved to Richmond, IN to attend Earlham College, where I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Mathematics and later went on to earn a Master's Degree in Teaching, also from Earlham. After living in Richmond for over 15 years my family and I moved to Bloomington in December 2013 and I quickly immersed myself in the community. My background as a secondary math teacher and my kindergarten aged daughter meant that my first community involvement was her school, University Elementary, where I served in leadership positions in the Parent-Teacher Organization for 7 years, including President, Vice President, and the Chair of Fall Campaign and Learning Festival. Related work with the schools and youth included volunteering for various committees within MCCSC, classroom volunteering, and coaching youth sports. My community involvement deepened past youth and the school system to volunteer with the Interfaith Winter Homeless Shelter, lead adult justice discussions, and I currently co-chair a group that helps local refugee families meet self-sufficiency goals, which includes assisting with housing, employment, and education. Through my volunteer work I have expanded my understanding of the unhoused community, experienced the difficulty of finding affordable housing and childcare in Bloomington, navigated multiple social and government support systems, and become adept at managing the challenges of transportation in Bloomington without a car.  

I manage a household consisting of my spouse, two school-age children, numerous pets, and provide household support to aging local family members.